Thread: Interview with Daniela, Graphic Artist

Interview with Daniela, Graphic Artist

Name:  interview heading.jpg
Views: 82
Size:  21.5 KB

Hello Daniela!

The Miramagia players have voted for us to interview you – and we have plenty of questions to ask you! You are the head of the graphics department; the players are familiar with your work. Now they've become curious about the person behind it.

Please, tell us something about yourself.

I joined the team in 2011; but at that time, I was involved in another project for a short while before I switched back to Miramagia. I reckon I've been doing this for around 5-6 years by now.

After all this time, you become an integral part of the Miramagia team. We are also particularly interested in how you got here: can you tell us a bit about your education and graphic design studies?

There are actually loads of ways that may lead to a games company. If you want to work in graphic design, however, it is important that you can draw, you have an eye for layout and enjoy getting to grips with new technology. We primarily work with Adobe products and draw the artwork and objects on the computer using Wacom tablets. Drawing on the tablet takes quite a lot of practice.
    I became certain that I wanted to enter the games industry relatively early on. Back then, there weren't any specific study programmes for this career, but that's different today. That's why I actually have a background in film, where I was involved particularly in special effects and storyboarding. I then had an internship at a games company in Freiburg; there, I was responsible for in-game videos and trailers. After that, I found a position at Bright Future and took part in a shortened digital training course in media design to gain more knowledge in the web space. And I've stayed here since.